Grey Cup Champions Logos

The Grey Cup is presented to the winner of the Grey Cup Championship Game, a single-game winner-takes-all held at the conclusion of the two-round Canadian Football League playoffs and 18-game regular season. The game is played between the CFL East and West Division Champions.

It was first presented in 1909 and was commissioned by Albert Grey, the Governor General of Canada at the time. It was originally created to be a trophy for Canada's amateur hockey championship but the Allan Cup was donated before the Grey Cup was completed. Like the Stanley Cup the names of members of the winning teams are engraved onto the base of the cup after each championship.

Canadian teams have won the trophy every year with the exception of 1995 with the U.S.-based Baltimore Stallions defeated the Calgary Stampeders.