Women's National Basketball Association Logos

The Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) was founded on April 24, 1996, as a sister organization to the NBA, aiming to give women athletes a platform comparable to their male counterparts. The league commenced play in June 1997 with eight original teams. It was established in part due to the increased interest in women's basketball following the 1996 Olympics. The league has since expanded, and as of 2025, it includes 13 teams spread across the United States.

In many instances, WNBA teams initially closely followed the branding and marketing strategies of the NBA, with several of its early teams basing their identities on their NBA counterparts. This approach was intended to leverage existing fan bases and local support, but over time, the league and its teams have developed unique identities. As the league matured, this shift allowed for a stronger individual presence and identity for each team, helping to cultivate dedicated fanbases and enhance the overall image of the WNBA.

Women's National Basketball Association Team Logos

Women's National Basketball Association Teams of the Past Logos