World Series Champions Logos

The World Series Champion is the winner of a best-of-seven game playoff between the champions of Major League Baseball's American League and National League. It is awarded following a 162-game regular season and three rounds of playoffs among the two leagues.

World Series Championships have been played annually since 1903 with the exception of National League pride getting in the way in 1904 and a labour dispute between team owners and players in 1994 - both resulted in no title being awarded in those seasons. Championship teams have been presented with the Commissioners Trophy since 1967, a gold trophy with a flag representing each team currently playing in either of the two Major Leagues. The current version of the trophy design was first awarded to the 2000 World Series Champion New York Yankees.

Championship teams keep their trophies as a new award is created every year.