Gagarin Cup Champions Logos

The Gagarin Cup (Кубок Гагарина, Kubok Gagarina) is awarded annually to the playoff champion of the Kontinental Hockey League (Континентальная хоккейная лига КХЛ). The trophy is named for Soviet cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin who became the first human to travel to outer space on April 12, 1961. The trophy itself is made of silver and weighs 40 lbs, making it slightly heavier than the NHL's Stanley Cup.